Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Khanate of Bukhara (1500 to 1920)

It received this name when the capital of the Shaybanid state (1506–1598) was moved to Bukhara. The khanate of Bukhara, which reigned between 1500 and 1920, was the longest surviving Turkish-Islamic State after the Ottoman Empire. The Shaybanid dynasty ruled the Khanate from 1506 to 1598. Under their rule, Bukhara became a center of arts and literature and educational reforms were introduced.

From 1533 to 1540, Bukhara briefly became its capital during the reign of Ubaydallah Khan. The khanate reached its greatest extent and influence under its penultimate Abu'l-Khayrid ruler, the scholarly Abdullah Khan II (r. 1557–1598).

In the 17th and 18th centuries, the Khanate was ruled by the Janid Dynasty (Astrakhanids or Hashtarkhanids). They were the last Genghisid descendants to rule Bukhara.

In 1740 it was conquered by Nadir Shah. After his death, in 1747, the khanate was controlled by the descendants of the Uzbek emir Khudayar Bi, through the prime ministerial position of ataliq.

In 1785, his descendant, Shah Murad, formalized the family's dynastic rule (Manghit dynasty), and the khanate became the Emirate of Bukhara.

The late nineteenth century saw commercial and diplomatic ties with Russia give way to armed conflict soon after the Russian conquest of Tashkent (1865). In 1920 the former khanate became the Bukharan People's Soviet Republic, dissolving into the Soviet republic of Uzbekistan in 1924.
Khanate of Bukhara (1500 to 1920)

The top most popular articles